Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Ensoniq SQ-80  (Read 15322 times)

djsynchro

• Dayglo Volunteer of International Masturbation
Ensoniq SQ-80
« on: May 15, 2006, 11:29:51 PM »

Hey Paul...

For over 10 years I have an Ensoniq SQ-80 and today I looked at it and I with a SHOCK realised that the sound engine is 8-bit digital (with CEM resaonant analogue filters) and if I could just get the waves to glitch without it interfering to much with the rest of the synth engine (envelopes etc.) that could be KILLER.

First thing first: I used to be a lighting technician so I would be taking all proper precautions, stay away from the power supply/capacitors, work with gloves & goggles and so on!

Anyone reading this: Do NOT attempt to circuit bend anything that runs on mains voltage, unless you know EXACTLY what you're doing! Even if it is disconnected from the mains you could still get a shock from a charged capacitor!

Now then. What I would want to try and do is get the waveROMs to glitch and nothing else, because i do NOT want to fry this classic synth. This is my question: The 4 wavechips are EPROMs... do you think that shorting them could wipe/corrupt them? If so I might still try it but I'd try to first get a set of backups then. (There are still parts for the SQ on the Internet so that might actually be possible.)

There is also a cartridge port for connecting an EEPROM (Electrically ERASABLE programmable ROM) do you think shorting that would work like you suggested for the MD-16? Is that because all the datalines for all the memory stuff is all connected together?

:)

Cheers!

« Last Edit: May 16, 2006, 08:55:48 AM by djsynchro »

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
Re: Ensoniq SQ-80
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2006, 04:21:18 PM »