Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: how do toy switches work? matrix???  (Read 9927 times)

LOSS1234

how do toy switches work? matrix???
« on: September 16, 2007, 02:19:48 PM »

Hello. I am new to bending and have been having some luck but one area I can find NO information on is how the buttons/switches work on 90 percent of newer toys. From what I can tell there is a gold CIRCULAR area on the circuit board where a rubber button touches (makes contact) with the circle to turn the sound or light or song ON but what i want to know, is how can i rewire or fix or shorten or remove the switches and use them differently or in something else.

for example, on old toys that i have fried, there are still tons of these little switches on tiny boards that it would be nice to use in something else. but unlike a pot, i dont know how to wire them up to another project.

I get how a pot works but these switches all seem to connect to a common bus and then travel down some thin cable. Do they HAVE TO HAVE A GROUND or can i just connect the wire to another device?

ALSO, what kind of signal do these send out? is it resistance based like a pot or is it a logic signal?

any info or schematics appreciated.
I have tons of toys with these sorts of matrix switches and i cant figure them out for the life of me.

btw most of these toys are from leapfrog or v-tech or made in china

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
Re: how do toy switches work? matrix???
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2007, 01:05:35 AM »

I'm not entirely sure what you're describing here, any chance of a photo?

Most toys with keypads that work on matrix switching will have a decoder chip that makes sense of the buttons you press.  With only a few outputs you can create a fairly big matrix of buttons, the speak and spell has 40 keys for 13 outputs.