Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Rather bizarre screws...That, of course, piss me off.  (Read 9301 times)

Katzebar

Rather bizarre screws...That, of course, piss me off.
« on: August 20, 2006, 05:14:38 AM »

Alright, so I'm fairly new to circuit bending, (Have yet to bend anything, but I plan on it,) and since I work as an audio engineer...well, most, if not everything I could possibly need I already have, except this damn little screw type I've never really seen before.

I had the urge to start to dissect a Gameboy Color that I had lying around to see if I couldn't get anything out of it, and while I have a gut feeling I probably won't get anything terribly interesting out of it, if anything at all, the only real hindrance from me finding out is this stupid kind of screw. It's not completely unlike a Tri-Wing, but it's a little different, and I don't even have the proper head for the previous screw, let alone the one on the fricking gameboy. I have flathead, philips, and hex screwdrivers in every size known to man, but I don't have this one.

Normally, I'd just cut the fricking thing off with my Dremel, but two screws are in positions that prevent me from doing so without slicing an article of the circuit board off, and the other I can't do without slicing into the gameboy speaker, which I would like to leave intact.

So, simple question: is this the dreaded star screw that is on all of the TI equipment? Regardless, does anyone know where I can get the proper screwdriver for it? Never seen anything like it in Home Depot or anything of the like.

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
Re: Rather bizarre screws...That, of course, piss me off.
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2006, 04:19:51 PM »

you need one of these http://www.mod-chip.com/en/gba_screwdriver.php don't you. Or something similar.