Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Casio sk-2100 -Ranting about breakout boxes  (Read 17463 times)

broken in brain

• A few of my Tunes
Casio sk-2100 -Ranting about breakout boxes
« on: December 09, 2009, 07:53:35 PM »

HI everyone! just found this great site and was wondering if anyone has any tips for me . I'm new to circuit bending and all of that but have a good knowledge of synths and such.  This morning I found a casio sk-2100 for $10 so I had to snatch it up.  Needless to say I cannot seem to find too many resources about it online.  Being that it is a good size enclosure it has a good amount of room to hack it up and cover it with pots and switches. My only issue is I have never done this before and can't seem to find any good starting points. Is bending it just like any other in the sk series, or is it a whole diffrent beast all together? It is fully functional and I got a shitload of D batteries redy to go. Just could use a few pointers to get me going. I have a bunch of other cheap casios and yamahas to mutate, but this one seemsl ike it could be real cool with its nicer keys and all of that. Has anyone bent one of these? Help!!!
Thanks in advance.  Colin

(EDITED BY ADMIN: Changed the thread title to reflect where the threads gone)
« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 06:25:29 PM by Circuitbenders »

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
Re: Casio sk-2100
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2009, 12:23:45 AM »

Find the RAM chips. If i recall correctly they are two big chips connected together over to the left of the board with the solder side up, keys towards you. There might be an unoccupied space for another identical chip between them, or that might be the SK200 i'm thinking of.

There will be RAM chips in there somewhere, probably near a big surface mount CPU.