Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Yamaha PSS 160  (Read 6724 times)

Evergreen Navigator

Yamaha PSS 160
« on: August 21, 2012, 01:56:54 AM »

I have a Broken PSS 160.  The keyboard doesn't work since I took it apart the rubber (whatever that stuff is) thing behind the Keys is messed up.  I'm new to bending I have a few switches and a potentiometer or to lying around.  I would like to hack this things arpegiaror so I could use the pot to change its pitch for starters. I took the circuitry out of the body and wired in a power disconnect .  Any help for the new guy would be awesome. 

Evergreen Navigator

Re: Yamaha PSS 160
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2012, 02:18:43 AM »

I saw in another post that they rewired the FM chip is that how you should do it? Should you use resistors across between two pins on the chip? How do you figure out which chip is the FM chip.  I'm not an electrical engineer.  I do understand some electrical circuitry DC 12 systems as I fix cars for a living.  Here's an interesting idea could I use electrical car relays to augment this circuit.  Any ideas would help me out greatly.

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2012, 10:42:05 AM »

I think the problem here might be that you don't know what you actually want to achieve, let alone how to achieve it. Its all very well saying you want to use relays to augment the circuit, but to do what? What do you want to control with what signal?

Should you use resistors across between two pins on the chip? How do you figure out which chip is the FM chip.

What two pins? I don't think the PSS160 uses an FM chip. http://weltenschule.de/TableHooters/Yamaha_PSS-160.html

I can't tell from your first post what you are actually trying to achieve with regards to the arpeggiator.  :-\