Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Just got a casio SA-2 to bend... but what parts?  (Read 9950 times)

Nixot

Just got a casio SA-2 to bend... but what parts?
« on: May 29, 2010, 02:08:44 PM »

Hello everyone.

I'm new to the world of circuit bending, and it seems very exciting. I want to start off with this Casio SA-2 keyboard beside me. I will be working on this with my dad, who is experienced with electronics, but in order to start, we must know what parts to get. I have made a list of the parts labelled on the Casper Electronics list, but according to him, this is not enough. We need to know part names or at least what type of part we need. I could only find a short list of part names on a PDF on "the noise upstairs", and still need to know the rest of the parts needed. If anyone could lend me a hand it would be most appreciated. Thank you.

The parts listed are:
A DPDT Switch (on-off-on)
A 6 MHz crystal
An LTC1799 precision oscillator
Two "22pF Caps"
A "1K Trim"
Two 1K Potentiometers
A 500K Potentiometer
A 100K Potentiometer
A DC Adapter socket 6V
An LED
A Line Out Jack Socket
A Centre Off Switch
Three On/Off Switches
Two Momentary Switches
A 2-3K Potentiometer

Any help would be most appreciated. Thank you.

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
Re: Just got a casio SA-2 to bend... but what parts?
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2010, 04:19:01 PM »

I don't think there is any definative parts list for bending an SA2 as it depends entirely on exactly what you want to do and how you want to go about doing it. Theres a few different ways of doing a lot of the possible mods. Most people have a stock of different parts and experiment with what works best for them.