Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Circuit Bending & Post-Modernism  (Read 19752 times)

goldenbaby

• Dayglo Volunteer of International Masturbation
Circuit Bending & Post-Modernism
« on: April 08, 2009, 12:36:06 AM »

For some reason, it seems natural for me to relate the circuit-bending scene to post-modern art.  Do you guys consider there to be a correlation between the two?  How are you guys using your CBOs yourself?

deathbender

• Way to much time on his hands
Re: Circuit Bending & Post-Modernism
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2009, 01:25:57 AM »

When i'm bending some toy or keyboard i'm not considering it to be art but some kind of design. When i think about where to put the new controls so that it looks clean and stylish but still functional... I'm not pretending i'm an artist but a hobbyist/tinkerer if these words are the right ones to describe what i'm doing... Others may see this completely different concerning their work... That's just what i'm thinking about myself...

goldenbaby

« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2009, 01:35:48 AM »

I was thinking moreso about the usage of mostly non-melodic CBOs within a performance.  Not so much the constructive of it.  Although, I would suggest that the intentional sabotage of circuits to create new sounds that please the ears in weird ways is a productive more of this generation than when Ghazala discovered this way ahead of it's time in the 60s or 70s.

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2009, 01:49:47 AM »

A shoe in a bucket is art if you say it is and you can convince enough pretentious idiots to go along with you.  ;D