Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: advice needed on modding an sh-101  (Read 7694 times)

ni-cad

advice needed on modding an sh-101
« on: April 18, 2009, 08:14:50 PM »

hi, this is my first post here, cool forum btw.

I'm hoping to get my roland sh-101 modded, so far the plan is to fit it with midi out, extra led's above all the sliders - a clear back-lit modulation wheel and to give it a new colour scheem - black with orange graphics, it should be cool but I have little knowledge of electronics and the modifications are being done by a synth repaire company.

The main problem is the midi out, if any of you guys can pitch any ideas my way I would be very greatfull. I've been told a kit from doepfer could probably be used, it's a contact to midi out module - http://www.doepfer.de/home_e.htm and uses contact switches wich it then converts in to midi note on/off data, from here on I'm confused. no one seems to know if the contacts on the keys already in the sh-101 will be sufficiant or if new extra switches would be need to be fitted or if new switches are needed which switches would be appropriate.

I know sparkfun have some nice switches but don't really know enough about electronics to be able to figure out if any of them might work. . . . the problem is, the synth repair company have never modded a synth for midi out and they charge a lot, I can't afford to pay them for their time to figure it out, so I need advice.

hope thats cool and that someone here might be a little clued up on the ctm 64 or perhaps be able to offer some sugestions for a workaround.

ni-cad. 

Gordonjcp

• This person is dangerously insane.
    • http://www.nekosynth.co.uk
Re: advice needed on modding an sh-101
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2009, 10:20:07 PM »