Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Hello: A question about pots  (Read 10824 times)

geigercounter120

Hello: A question about pots
« on: July 05, 2006, 01:56:31 PM »

Hi everyone; this is my 1st post here so apologies if I'm posting in the wrong place.

I'm just starting out in circuit-bending and am sourcing a set of components and tools.  I was wondering if anyone here knows a place/shop in the UK that stocks 'high power' pots (in the region of 5 - 10M)?

Cheers and hello!
 ;D

Chris

Signal:Noise

• Closer to the meat
Re: Hello: A question about pots
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2006, 09:41:49 PM »

You can solder resistors in series to increase the value of a pot if you have trouble sourcing some.

geigercounter120

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2006, 02:42:34 PM »

You can solder resistors in series to increase the value of a pot if you have trouble sourcing some.
Thanks for that; a quick (massively newbie) question tho: how would placing resistors in series allow me to use them as variable resistors (in the manner of pots)?
[The reason I'm asking is that I was reading the Ghazala book and am planning to have some fun with a play-a-sound book strip in order to create some nice ambient noize (as one of my first ever bends!), but instead of using, for example, one resister just to pitch sounds down, I'd like to be able to alter the pitch to extremes...]

Thanks for your help ;D
« Last Edit: July 06, 2006, 03:00:24 PM by geigercounter120 »

iqoruvuc

• Dayglo Volunteer of International Masturbation
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2006, 03:55:57 PM »