Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Who's gonna save my nicely bent SK-1 ?  (Read 8897 times)

alienized

Who's gonna save my nicely bent SK-1 ?
« on: June 19, 2011, 11:15:51 PM »

Hi there,

I started playing with a LTC1799 module yesterday and only bad things happened to me from there...

I could't make it work on a PT-88 so I tried to install it on my already nicely bent SK-1, working like a charm.

I followed GetLoFi instructions and wiring diagram and first it just worked perfectly. I was amazed by the sounds it produced !
I wanted to make better solder joints so I turned the SK-1 off and resoldered the two wires that allow to switch between original clock component and the LTC module.

When I turned the SK-1 on again, not a sound. Then I noticed that the led stayed on even on the "off" position. I tried to switch it on and off, unplugged the power supply, tried it with batteries, switched on and off again for several minutes... Nothing.

And still the led is on whenever I plug the power supply or put batteries...
(I must confess I left the power supply plugged to the SK-1 when resoldering; however the power was off)

I haven't tried to discharge the capacitors yet (I just need to connect both pins, no precautions whatsoever like with a big 110/220V amp?...) but I'm not very optimistic. Any clue? Where should I start looking ?
I must say I have another working SK-1 so I can try exchanging components (well, maybe not the main IC... I hope the problem isn't in there !)

After that (yes you can say I'm stupid...) I tried to connect the LTC module to my PT-88 again (the one that still worked, not the one I damaged yesterday and has now very low volume, see my other post) following the same diagram. And guess what ? It also stopped working. No sound when volume on positions 1 & 2, a big nasty noise when on positions 3-5...