Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Beginner question regarding switches, have they sent me the wrong ones?  (Read 5109 times)

xplor33

Hello, I am very new to circuit bending and have recently aquired a couple toys from a charity shop which I am hoping to mutate...

Iv been researching and gathering as much information as possible. Looking at the tips on this site I came across some links to equipment I needed. So I decided to purchase some switches....

I used the company reccomended (Rapid Electronics)

I ordered: Salecom T8013(2P)-SEBQ-H SPST On-off Miniature Toggle Switch (2 pins)

But when I look at the compononets I have received they all say on - on, on them, have I been sent the wrong ones or have I ordered the wrong thing?

If they are the wrong ones are they any use to me at all doing very simple bends?

any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers

xplor33

Re: Beginner question regarding switches, have they sent me the wrong ones?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 02:57:12 PM »

Im really confused here...  after reading some of the comments on the product page I found this:

"Q: Am I correct in assuming that there is a "centre off" position for this switch? I want to use the switch for an "on forwards, Off, on backwards" control switch for a battery operated motor.

A: Hi Trevor. Thank you for your question. You are correct - this switch has a centre off position and 2 latching positions."

However when I press the toggle it doesnt seem to sit in the middle at all?  :o

The world of circuit bending is baffling me already.

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 11:13:51 PM »

SPST means single pole, single throw switches. This means that the switch connects the two pins in one position, and they're disconnected in the other.