Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Yamaha YPT-230  (Read 1321 times)

iwillbeacircuitbender

  • Way to much time on his hands
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Yamaha YPT-230
« on: July 24, 2016, 12:43:13 PM »

OK, so I see 3 SMD chips
One is the SWL01
The other is a fecon ROM chip, in the service manual, it is listed as a 64MB ROM, prog/wave
And the final one is a YMW767 "CPU and XG lite generator"
The YMW767 is a CPU as well? I expect one is for DSP effects
But whenever I try and glitch it, it either shuts itself off, or locks up on a single tone, and I have to take one of the batteries out to reset it?
Can anyone help me?
Here is a picture of the main board:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B6dCDLs3BNuDNFRFV0MycVk0dTNFTk9PLUZCUGlScWhBdFhN
Logged

Circuitbenders

  • crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
  • *****
  • Karma: 1102
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2444
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
Re: Yamaha YPT-230
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2016, 01:01:35 AM »

Theres nothing at that link.

If you keep having to take a battery out to reset it, just wire a push to break switch inline with the battery connections. It'll act like a reset button by disconnecting the batteries.

i don't think you're going to get very far with a Yamaha YPT-230. Outside of reclocking it, you might want to try the ROM chip, but i think it might be too modern.
Logged
i am not paid to listen to this drivel, you are a terminal fool

iwillbeacircuitbender

  • Way to much time on his hands
  • **
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
Re: Yamaha YPT-230
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2016, 10:28:09 AM »

"But I think it might be too modern"
The ROM chip, or the keyboard, and why?
Logged