Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: diagnose a broken circuit - seeing the flow - help?  (Read 11929 times)

volg4

diagnose a broken circuit - seeing the flow - help?
« on: April 05, 2009, 12:02:22 AM »

im still pretty new to all the circuits and schematics

i dont know what im looking at when i see a diagram, i managed to build an lfo using a picture of how its put together, i dont know how or why this lfo works but if i follow the picture, like a join the dots, it works... lol

ive got an amdek pck-100 percussion synth and it sounds nothing like the you tube video of the same thing...
it works but makes a high pitched noise all the time, no sub or bass or mids at all...
i have the schematics and building instructions and some mods (which i did thinking they might make it sound better, ...they didnt)

i dont know where to start looking, has the oscillator gone? any suggestions?

one of these..  http://filters.muziq.be/model/amdek/pck100

video of how it should sound

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=td8EqQU80R0

Gordonjcp

• This person is dangerously insane.
    • http://www.nekosynth.co.uk
Re: diagnose a broken circuit - seeing the flow - help?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 12:59:35 AM »

Okay, the circuit is a little odd, so we'll go through it bit by bit.  You very quickly learn to recognise "blocks" of circuits, so when you see something you can kind of guess what it's supposed to do.  It's a bit like, even if you don't entirely understand a word you haven't seen before, you can figure it out from the context.

I don't know how much you know about electronics, but there are masses of sites out there that will tell you all about it.  So I'll assume you know what resistors and capacitors are, explain opamps briefly, and crack on.