Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: First time bending something, mid-90's Casio SA-40  (Read 7278 times)

BizzNazzMan

First time bending something, mid-90's Casio SA-40
« on: June 20, 2010, 06:33:01 AM »

This was a recent find at the local thrift shop for $2.50 - I think I got a good deal. It works fine and even came with batteries.

What I did first was take the case apart, clean it up, and spray the entire case white with some nice Rustoleum plastic paint. It has worked well in the past.

Since this is my first time attempting this, I don't want to get too complicated.

What this device really lacks is a nice output jack, which I intend to install in the rear. The stock speaker is OK, but I want a good stereo output for recording this. Aside from the stereo out put, I would also like to bend the rotating wheel (was pink I painted it red) in the corner. I was thinking of installing some rheostats in the lower right side of the keyboard (hollow end) and running the rheostats to the three-way circut for the spinning wheel. I am looking into something called "power starvation" as well.

If I can't get too far along with the bending on this one right now, I will just install the output jack and put it back together. With all the stock decals sanded off and painted white, plus all the little multi-colored buttons that will go back on the board area with no labels, this thing looks very cool.

How are these things to bend? Also, when I get the out put jack, can I just splice it into the wires for the speaker? I have't done this kind of work before. Can I wire it right in line with the speaker wires and the speaker will just shut off when the headphone jack is inserted? I am a total electrical novice, so any advice about adding a jack would be great.