Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: 106 LED change  (Read 9458 times)

asciwhite

106 LED change
« on: December 28, 2010, 12:53:37 PM »

alright all,

Im new to circuit bending so if I ask a dumb question, please be gentle.. (c:

I've got a juno 106 and I've ordered the blue LED kit. I've already carried out a few mods, changing the battery for a pop out job and a little cleaning up but I want to change all the LED's to blue. On a score of 1 to 10, how difficult is this to do?

Cheers all,

a

Gordonjcp

• This person is dangerously insane.
    • http://www.nekosynth.co.uk
Re: 106 LED change
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 11:09:02 PM »

Depends how good your soldering is.  Getting the 7-segment displays out will be hard.  You need a good soldering iron and some solder braid, and a lot of patience.  Make sure you get dim blue LEDs because normal ones will be much brighter than the existing red and green LEDs, which will be really hard on the eyes.

Blue LEDs are passé now anyway.  You should get white ones.
If at first you don't succeed, stick it through a fuzzbox.

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2010, 12:34:28 AM »

Make sure you get dim blue LEDs because normal ones will be much brighter than the existing red and green LEDs, which will be really hard on the eyes.

Tell me about it, i can't even read any of the lettering on the front panel of my Yamaha RM1X since replacing all the LED's. Its too bright to actually look at!
i am not paid to listen to this drivel, you are a terminal fool

Gordonjcp

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2010, 10:49:48 AM »

I'd like to change the backlight and LEDs in my Akai to white, but I'll probably just leave it alone - I'm glad it's working at all!

asciwhite

« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2010, 01:04:22 PM »