Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: The cheapest toy keyboard from ebay, Peng Zhan 168B  (Read 6722 times)

phlogister

The cheapest toy keyboard from ebay, Peng Zhan 168B
« on: December 24, 2015, 10:45:03 AM »

Happy holidays!

I'm not an expert in circuit bending. This keyboard costs $7 with shipping when bought from America, and $5 with shipping when bought from Europe. I suspect the next one is produced by the same company and uses the exact same microcontroller, only has fewer keys, this one costs $1.65. The black keys don't play. When using it with Arduino (what i really bought it for), its possible to make the black keys to play like by putting a cardboard board below the keys, who has a patience of making it.

The sounds seem to be similar to a recorder, and the songs mostly played with a recorder or a bagpipe, seem to sound the best on it. The sounds seems to be triangulal wave, which is the most similar to sine. It seems that a frequency envelope was the easiest way to make sounds less monotonous. But at that it has no volume envelope, so the sounds end somewhat disruptly. It has no polyphony, the sound engine doesn't detect the release of the keys, so sounds played separately always have the same length, and it has no other effects.

This orange switch there is for switching to the mode where there is a song under every key, or rather they are only parts of the songs, some played with wrong speed, and there are the same songs under different keys. There are no other effects or modes.

The images below cannot be used for commercial purposes, by the photobucket license,

http://i1266.photobucket.com/albums/jj531/benshida/WJ/WJ012/1587846106_1521803253_zpse833b2aa.jpg