Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Need help with a cascaded 4017 sequencer circuit  (Read 22814 times)

CremeDeMentia

Need help with a cascaded 4017 sequencer circuit
« on: November 26, 2007, 03:53:50 AM »

Hello everyone.  I've read posts here and there on this site, I've been bending stuff for about 3 years now.  This is my first post (that I remember, any way).   

I already posted this to a similar forum that I just joined, and I hope you don't mind me being a bit lame and posting the same message rather than retyping it:

Hi everyone!  I'm starting to work with ICs and I have an idea in mind that I need to get out of my head.

I've been working with 4017s and 555s to make a sequencer that will in turn cue sounds from a toy. I want (I think) a clock signal supplied by a 555 because I want to be able to adjust not only the frequency of the clock signal but also the *length* of the clock pulse. I want (I think) 4017's so that I can vary the number of steps in my sequence.

My original source for the circuit I came up with is:

http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/Bill_Bowden/page5.htm

specifically:

I used the cascaded 4017 18-stage sequencer circuit (above) to come up with this:

It cycles nicely through 16 steps. What I don't understand is what is going on with the logic gate created by the 1N914 diodes; I actually came up with this circuit just by playing with the one from the page I mentioned earlier, not through any math or innate understanding of ICs.