Circuitbenders Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Components  (Read 13743 times)

Rogue Molecule

Components
« on: May 18, 2006, 10:47:30 AM »

Hello all!

I'm quite new to this whole malarkey and was wondering where you all purchased your components? I've been using Maplin simply because there's a shop near me, but it's costing me an arm and a leg.

Is there anywhere online you'd recommend?

Any help appreciated!

Don

Signal:Noise

• Closer to the meat
Re: Components
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2006, 08:52:51 PM »

Ebay's a good bet I think. New to this as well, but I've had it recomended to me by a friend. Going down to the dump and scavenging old radios for potentiometers is another good way to get hold of interesting components.

Circuitbenders

• crustypaul
  • Admin
  • This person is dangerously insane.
    • Circuitbenders.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2006, 09:31:39 PM »

we usually use www.cpc.co.uk or www.rapidelectronics.co.uk . Rapid are cheaper for stuff like switches but be aware that some some of their very cheap stuff is just crap. I remember buying a bunch of push button switches from them that were so cheap that the metal was stripped from the thread the second you unscrewed the nut and the whole thing melted into a pool of plastic the second you tried to solder anything onto the tags.
The equivalent buttons at maplin now cost 70p each (unlike 20p or so at rapid) but at maplins they are far better quality. And thats something i never thought i'd say about a electronics company that told a mate of mine that he needed no knowledge of electronics to work there.
i am not paid to listen to this drivel, you are a terminal fool

papaspank

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2006, 02:32:29 AM »